Hoyt Awards College Scholarships

College Scholarship Winners

Earlier this year, Arts and Education at the Hoyt introduced the L. Eugene DeCaprio Undergraduate Art Scholarship program named after the former Director of the Westminster College Celebrity Series and current Hoyt Center for the Arts Trustee, L. Eugene DeCaprio. Mr. DeCaprio has been presenting, performing and advocating for arts and culture in Lawrence County for more than six decades. While the program is certainly not Mr. DeCaprio’s first honor, it is one very close to his heart as it supports the continuing education of five graduating seniors in Lawrence County who will continue to pursue a career in the arts. They are MacKenzie Miles, Nevada Pacifico, Jacob Sizer, Montana Pastore and Rachel Kroner.


Congratulations to:

MacKenzie Miles

MacKenzie, of Laurel Area School District, received the Thomas G. McNickle Visual Arts Award, named after educator and artist Thomas G. McNickle.  She will be pursuing a career in the visual arts and will be attending Allegheny County Community College this fall. It’s worth noting that Miles took first place in the Lawrence County Student Competition earlier this Spring.



Jacob Sizer

Jacob, of New Castle Area School District, received a Music Award for continuing studies in Music Education at the Dana School of Music, Youngstown State University. Montana Pastore, also of New Castle, received a Dance Award and will be attending Mercyhurst University.



Rachel Kroner

Rachel, of Neshannock Area School District, received a Music Award for continuing studies in Music Education at Slippery Rock University.


Montana Pastore

New Castle High School, attending Mercyhurst University


Nevada Pacifico

Nevada, of Laurel School District, received the Theater Award on account of her exceptional work in musical theater. She will be attending Grove City College.

Follow Hoyt
Send this to a friend